PALMDALE – Collisions are the leading cause of death for children 1 to 13 years old, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. An appropriate and correctly installed child passenger safety seat may be the one thing that makes the difference between life and death for a child involved in a traffic collision, according to the California Highway Patrol.
To help raise awareness of the importance of these lifesaving devices, the California Highway Patrol Antelope Valley Office will host a child safety seat event this Friday, Sept. 19.
The free event will be held from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. at Sam’s Club, located at 39940 10th Street West in Palmdale.
The event will feature free inspections and assistance on how to correctly install child safety seats. Parents and caregivers can also get information about children’s safety in motor vehicles.
The local event is being held in conjunction with National Child Passenger Safety Week, observed from September 14 – 20.
“Protecting a child is a parent’s primary responsibility,” stated CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow. “No child should die in a collision or suffer serious injury because they were not properly restrained.”
California law requires that children be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat in the back seat until they are 8 years old. A child who is 8 years, and 4-foot 9-inches or taller, may ride in the back seat with a lap/shoulder belt.
The CHP recommends the following safety tips for proper car seat selection and installation:
- Select a car seat based on your child’s age and size, choose a seat that fits in your vehicle, and use it every time.
- Always refer to your specific car seat manufacturer’s instructions; read the vehicle owner’s manual on how to install the car seat using the seat belt or LATCH system and check height and weight limits.
- To maximize safety, keep your child in the car seat for as long as possible, as long as the child fits within the manufacturer’s height and weight requirements.
- Keep your child in the back seat at least through age 12.
For more information or a free inspection of your child safety seat, contact the Antelope Valley CHP office at 661-948-8541.